Have you received an advertising offer from a company called Polimedia.US? If so, you are not alone. The email text offer reads like this:
"Subject: Advertising Inquiry
From: advertising@polimedia.us
We have reviewed your blogger.com blog on behalf of one of our
clients that would be interested in placing advertising with you.
Client profile :
DoingFine (http://doingf#$%)
New project (<1 month old) Theme A forum dedicated to those things that came out right and worked out fine.
We'd like either a 150x150 button, 160x600 skyscraper or 468x60 full banner (or footer). Alternatively, we may be interested in text-only advertising.
This would be a weekly, monthly or yearly arrangement. In either case we will require a one time, one day (24 hours) free placement in order to test the quality and quantity of traffic your website can actually provide*. Within this interval, we will make a final determination, based on the traffic volume, quality, and your asking price. Should we find your terms acceptable, this trial day will count towards the agreed interval.
Kindly let us know if you would be interested, which arrangement best suits your editorial needs, and what rates you would like to charge. We prefer using PayPal but may be able to accomodate alternative payment methods.
Thank you.
*Please note that we employ software that reliably detects autoclick and autosurf bots, pay per click and paid to surf type traffic, and other such non-human traffic. This may be a concern for you, especially if you are buying "bulk traffic", or employing the services of dubious "SEO experts"
After researching this last night, I decided to blog about the need for advertising safety and what to do to check references and perform "Due Diligence".
Here are my tips:
1. Check the company out in Hoovers (www.hoovers.com) to make sure they are a legitimate company
2. Check the website and the URL using whois.org. This will provide you with both the technical and the business contact.
3. Next, check those contacts out on Google. Usually you will find some CV or bio of them if they are a legitimate representative.
4. Google search the offer to make sure others haven't already checked it out (maybe this should be the first step :).
The Polimedia.us offer may be legitimate (at this time the data is not in) but I personally will pass and stick to traditional forms of paid placement through the established channels (aka Google, Yahoo SEM, ect). And...if Polimedia.US really wants to be on your blog, simply tell them to us Google AdWords for placement :)
Be safe out there......
Tuesday, February 26, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

13 comments:
Hi Adam
I did indeed get this email... and thought I'd check what info you gleaned :*)
That's if you are willing to share.
Cheers Euphrosene
I have also received this email and I appreciate the advice. Anyone who receives the email has the right to be skeptical about such offers.
Hello, Just received the same email and found this article (http://www.zimbio.com/Windows+XP/articles/280/Scamming+Spamming+Just+Won+t+Quit) when I did a google search for advertising@polimedio.us + scam. Thought you might be interested.
I'm glad you blogged about this. I was looking over it a second time. It was the best spam I've ever gotten. I was impressed.
Don't worry, I didn't sign up.
I've received this email, which is a surprise considering that I haven't received a significant amount of traffic in the past year. I told them that I don't have an account either with Paypal or a credit card (which is true BTW) so I am awaiting to see if they're eager to do a money order transaction instead. Fingers crossed they actually reply and don't scam me. XD
I got the same email and it seems to me this would be a good way to get a free 24 hour bump in their traffic. If they can just get a few people to agree to let them place their ad for a day, then decide the traffic doesn't suit them, what have they got to lose?
I got the same email. Twice in fact.
Wow. I'm so glad I checked this out first. Thanks for sharing the info.
I got it too and no way am I fallin for this one. I mean I don't even post on that blog. I post elsewhere.
I knew it was a scam because they didn't use my big blog. They used my daughter's little blog that hasn't been updated in years and gets v. little traffic I'm sure. I'll pass thanks.
Hi Adam,
Thank you so much for this initiative to enlighten the public over this. I got the email too and decided to put the name polimedia.us to search-test, that led me to your so informative tips.
Thanks so much
seskolbel
I got the email and responded to them with some rates but that I wasnt going to give them a free day. This is the somewhat rude response I got back- "Nope, but feel free to contact us again if you change your mind."
I got the same E-mail about the advertising, and I'm very glad for all the comments in this blog. I'm always skeptical about this, and I think it's wery easy to acsept such offers.
I didn't acsept this offer!
Post a Comment